Ven. Bodagoda Chandima
Thera Chief Incumbent of the Manelwatte Viharaya, International Advisor to H.E.
The President of Sri Lanka on Religious and Cultural Affairs.

 The Manelwatte Viharaya stands on a sylvan and serene setting of lush greenery in 16 hectares of land within easy reach of the pulsating metropolis of Colombo. A strange quirk of destiny made me the chief incumbent of this temple and its ample land gifted to the Buddha Sasana by President J. R.Jayawardene and his wife Mrs. Elena Jayawardene for the express purpose of “providing facilities for the Maha Sangha inclusive of all Nikayas or sects to learn the Dhamma and live a disciplined life in keeping with the teachings of the Buddha."

 President Jayawardene the architect of the present constitution of Sri Lanka is undoubtedly a complex personality who dominated the politics of Sri Lanka during his life time and left his indelible print in history. He and his wife bequeathed this oasis of tranquility to the Welivita temple in Kandy which was the Aramaya of Sahgha Raja Asarana Sarana Saranankara thera who on 10th July 1753 restored the Higher Ordination at the Pushparama Temple now known as the Malwatte Maha Viharaya . It was the inauguration of the Shiyamopali Maha Nikaya.

 The quirk of destiny occurred when the Most Venerable Damma Kiiti thera of the Sangharaja Viharaya offered the Manelwatte temple in Kelanya to me.

 "Why are you giving this temple to me" I asked. His reply was short ,sharp but assured. ‘Manelwatte viharaya is a substantial temple now in neglect. The Viharaya in Kelanya given its proximity to Colombo should be utilized for the greater benefit of the Sasana and that is in your hands’

 It was my destiny to make the Manelwatte temple a resurgent Buddhist phenomenon in the 21st century. It was my task to “provide facilities for the Maha Sangha inclusive of all Nikayas or sects to learn the Dhamma and live a disciplined life in keeping with the teachings of the Buddha” as stipulated in the deed of gift by President .J.R.Jayawrdena and his pious wife. It was my destiny to keep faith with the pioneering spirit of the Welivita Saranankarra Sagharaja tradition.

 It was my duty to live up to the expectations of Ven. Dahhmaakiti when he made me the chief incumbent of the Manelwatta temple.

 In the course of events, I met the Most Venerable Master Chin Kung who has now offered his great wisdom as chief sponsor and advisor to the Nãgãnanda International Buddhist University.
 Events in life are decided by the ebbs and flows of many conditions. A seed planted no matter how plentiful it promises to be will not grow without sunlight and water. Without those conditions the seed will remain a seed. The seed that was planted in my mind when I became the Chief Incumbent of Manelwatte Temple will grow when the conditions are conducive for its growth. My encounter with the most venerable Master Chin Kung I believe has brought the sunlight and water for that seed to grow.

 It is time that we treat Buddhist Studies as a discipline that covers all facets of the doctrine, its rituals, art, literature, social cohesion and many more not confined to a specific geographical area. Its areas of study and research will include Chinese, Tibetan and Southeast Asian and South Asian Buddhism.

 To me it is the culmination of a long journey. It has been my unflinching conviction that the
Buddhist world view found in Early Buddhism and contained in the Palicanon is in absolute concord with the most rigorous intellectualism of contemporary society and the scientific ethos that it relies on.

 The University when established will uphold the highest academic standards while widely disseminating its discoveries in Mahayana, Theravada and Tibetan tantric traditions. The University will immerse itself in research of high quality. It will provide an environment conducive to learn, teach and research. It will always be open to national and international peer assessment of the quality and content of its programs and courses of study. It will always strive to retain its capacity to explore new fields of study and research.

 The ancient Buddhist University of Nalanda is the model I have dreamt of replicating in Sri Lanka. The ancient Nalanda University was not specifically confined to Buddhist studies alone. It also had health care, linguistics and astronomy. Today the list would also include economics, management and psychology. None of these disciplines are alien to the teachings of the Buddha.

 Just as Nalanda was dependant on the patronage of Hindu kings such as Gupthas and Budhist kings such as Palas the Naganada University will solicit endowments from the rising Asian giants such as China, India, Korea and Japan and also what can be obtained our own Sri Lanka.


Special Address on the Foundation Stone Laying Ceremony of the Nãgãnanda International Buddhist University
By: Venerable Master Chin Kung
Date: June 25th, 2013
Venue: Manelwatta Buddhist Monastery

 Venerable Grand Preceptor, Dr. Bodagama Chandima Nayaka Thero, Venerable Masters, Ladies and Gentlemen, Today is especially meaningful and the whole world is joining our jubilation: the laying of the foundation for the International Buddhist University of Nãgãnanda here in Sri Lanka. Launching the construction project today is especially significant since the university is expected to rejuvenate Buddhist education across the world.

  After falling into decline for centuries, Buddhist education is now on the edge of extinction. Ancient Chinese have told us that capable men of virtue are the key to prosperity; if the survival of a country or a civilization is in the hands of the virtuous, prosperity would be realized; if not, extinction will occur; Likewise, another old Chinese proverb says that “It is the wise men of virtue who can make the truth of the universe perceivable and hence encourage the world to follow accordingly; without these men, the truth cannot promulgate itself.” Therefore, it is our most important task to educate the talents of virtue in Buddhist circles for the sake of the world today. Highly educated graduates from this university are expected to promulgate Buddha Shakyamuni’s teachings globally by lecturing or by providing support, which serves as the fundamental goal of the university. From this we can say that establishing such a university is vital in maintaining Shakyamuni’s teachings and its influence is bound to be far reaching!

 It is very gratifying to know that Buddhist education is flourishing everywhere in Sri Lanka, both in government schools and in local communities. I believe that establishing a university of Buddhism in Sri Lanka the last pure land on earth is the result of the blessings of every Buddha in the universe who wants to bestow his benevolence and deliverance to the suffering. Let us ask for divine protection and support from Buddhas and Bodhisattvas, from gods in heaven and from benign deities in the world! Let us pray for the lasting unanimity of everyone in Sri Lanka in promulgating Buddhist education. May perfect success be with the university, such that they will be able to sustain and prosper Buddhist education on the earth forever! Whoever decides to donate or help to fulfill this project will accumulate immense virtuous merits; it is beyond imagination!

 It is my honor to participate in this great cause that is gratifying to every Buddha and is commendable to both celestials and humans. I humbly hope that everyone can understand that such a rare opportunity might occur only once in the enormous time frame of thousands of eons; let us make a joint effort to realize this great cause. Be it a donation or volunteer work; let us give whatever we can afford for this great cause to attain perfect wisdom and merit. I sincerely wish that the effort today will result in the renaissance of Buddhist education, thus people’s minds can be purified and a world of peace and harmony will finally come true! Thank you!

強帝瑪法師
斯里蘭卡國家總統國際宗教文化事務顧問
藍蓮花寺住持

 

 

  斯里蘭卡藍蓮花寺座落於首都可倫坡近郊,占地16英畝,綠樹圍繞,清淨無比。殊勝的因緣,讓我能擔任藍蓮花寺住持。該寺院所在的土地,由前總統賈亞瓦德納先生及夫人捐贈給僧王,其目的在於“為所有佛教教派的僧眾提供一個修習佛法的道場,以佛陀的教導為榜樣,過有戒律的生活。”

  賈亞瓦德納總統為斯里蘭卡現行憲法的主要締造者,是斯里蘭卡歷史上一位非常複雜的人物。在位之時,他主導斯里蘭卡政治,在歷史上留下豐功偉績。賈亞瓦德納總統及夫人將這片安靜的綠洲捐贈給康提古城幽雅清淨的維利維塔寺院的阿拉瑪雅僧王。1753年10月,阿薩拉那·薩拉那·薩拉那克拉長老,在菩薩帕拉瑪寺(即藍蓮花寺)恢復比丘戒,在這裡舉辦了就職典禮。

  由於非常殊勝的因緣,僧王寺的達瑪客提老長在康提把藍蓮花寺贈給了我。我問他:“您為什麼要贈給我這個寺院?”他的回答簡短而堅決:“藍蓮花寺及其重要,如今卻不受重視。凱萊尼亞臨近科倫坡,應該更好地加以利用,弘揚正法,造福眾生。現在就交給你了。”

  讓佛法在21世紀、在藍蓮花寺得以恢復,這是我的使命。我的任務是:履行賈亞瓦德納總統及其夫人捐贈時的初衷:“為所有佛教教派的僧眾提供一個修習佛法的正法道場,以佛陀的教導為榜樣,過有戒律的生活。” 堅守薩拉那卡派的精神是我的使命。不辜負達瑪客提長老對我在藍蓮花寺的期望是我的責任。

  如今因緣和合,我遇到了尊敬的淨空上人。他為龍喜國際佛教大學慷慨捐助,他是一位睿智的長者,並同意擔任大學的首席顧問。

  世事萬物的成功都有賴因緣。一粒種子無論多麼飽滿,離開陽光與水都不能成長。沒有因緣合和的種子只能是一粒種子。當我接任藍蓮花寺住持的時候,這個種子就在我的腦海。當條件具足時,它會發芽、成長。我相信,我與淨空上人相遇,是他帶來了種子成長所需要的陽光與水。

  現在,我們應該把佛學作為一門教育來學習,涵蓋所有教義,包括儀式、藝術、文學、社會核心問題等許多方面,不受地理區域的限制。該教育的學習和研究範圍將包括中國、西藏、東南亞和南亞的佛教。

  對我來說這將是一個里程碑。我一直堅信,早期佛教和巴厘文藏經中的佛教世界觀,與當前最縝密的現代社會的學識與其所依賴的科學精神是完全相應的。

  佛教大學建成後,它將堅持最高學術標準,廣泛傳播大乘、南傳和藏傳密乘的教義。大學將致力於高質量的學術研究,提供一個有利學習、教學和研究的環境。任何國家和國際同行要對佛教大學的教學內容、項目和課程學習質量進行評估,我們將隨時敞開大門。我們的佛教大學會一直努力保持探索我們未研究到的佛法的領域學習的能力。

  我夢寐以求希望能將古代的那爛陀佛教大學的模式在斯里蘭卡重現。那爛陀大學並非僅限於佛教研究,它也有保健中心、語言學和天文學。我們佛教大學的課程也將包括經濟學、管理學和心理學,所有這些學科原本都包含在佛法裡面。

  正如那爛陀大學有印度教國王的贊助,也獲得了佛教國王的贊助,龍喜佛教大學也歡迎崛起的亞洲國家如:中國、印度、朝鮮、日本,及斯里蘭卡本地的支持與贊助。

龍喜國際佛教大學奠基典禮致辭
主講:淨空老法師
時間:二○一三年六月二十五日
地點:斯里蘭卡藍蓮花寺

  尊敬的強帝瑪國師、尊敬的各位法師、各位大德:今天是一個普天同慶、薄海歡騰的特殊日子,龍喜國際佛教大學於今日奠基,開始這所帶動世界佛教重興的學府的建設工程。現在,全世界佛教日漸沒落,可說是到了繼絕存亡的邊緣。中國古人說:興廢在人;得人者興,失人者亡。又說:「人能弘道;非道弘人。」所以,為全世界佛教培育弘護人才、延續正法慧命是當前第一大事,這正是建立國際佛教大學宗旨之所在。因此,此舉之意義非常重大,影響非常深遠!

  欣聞斯里蘭卡朝野興學,相信這是諸佛慈悲加佑,憐憫娑婆世界苦難眾生,於此世間僅有之一片佛教淨土上建立學府,培育弘法與護法人才。祈求諸佛菩薩暨龍天善神護持此道場!願朝野一心堅固,永遠不變!願此學府圓滿成就,讓娑婆世界閻浮提正法由此興旺,正法永住!發心隨喜見聞諸善信功德無量無邊,不可思議!

  淨空有幸參與此項諸佛歡喜、天人讚歎之盛舉,祈願大家認識此一稀有因緣,掌握此百千萬劫難遭遇的難得機會,有錢出錢,有力出力,共同成就此偉大事業,修得圓滿之智慧與福德!祝願大眾今日之努力,促成佛法振興,人心淨化,世界安定和平!謝謝大家!