Message of the Minister of Higher Education of Sri Lanka Hon. S. B. Dissanayaka

 

 I find the proposal to set up the Nagananda International Buddhist University at Manelwatta Kelaniya Sri Lanka as a need of the day. A centre of scholastic excellence that brings Mahayana, Therawada and Vajrayana traditions under one roof will be an initiative of immense value. In time to come the Nagananda University at Manelwatta will, reach the standings of a modern day Nalanda or Thaxila.

 Buddhism as a philosophy is undoubtedly the greatest accomplishment of human thought. When Sri Lanka received Buddhism during the reign of Emperor Ashoka it also became the first country and the first nation to adopt its teachings as the basis of its socio political conduct. Buddhism thus became the National Religion of Sri Lanka, when it was introduced in the 3rd century B.C.

 In India however Buddhism coexisted with several other religions. It explains how Sri Lanka became the treasury in which Therevada Buddhism was preserved while it gradually became near extinct in India the land of the Buddha.

 However today Buddhism is rediscovered in India as well as in some other countries of the west. It is the historical responsibility of Sri Lanka to promote this Global Buddhist resurgence. I see the Nagananda International Buddhist University at Manelwatta Kelaniya started by the Most Venerable Master Chin Kung, founder of the Pureland College of Buddhism in Australia which is to be Introduced to Sri Lanka by Veneralble Dr.Bodagama Chandima Nayake Thera as a major ontribution to that process.

 As Minister of Higher Education it Is my fervent hope that this University will be a beacon that will help future studies and research In Buddhism both as a doctrine and an applied science of human behaviour.

Hon. S. B. Dissanayaka

斯里蘭卡高教部長帝桑那亞卡 斯里蘭卡高教部長帝桑那亞卡

 

  我覺得在斯里蘭卡凱萊尼亞藍蓮花寺,成立龍喜國際佛教大學的提議是今天的一個需要。一個卓越的學術中心,將南傳、大乘和密乘傳統一於同一屋簷下,是一個極其有價值的舉措。龍喜國際佛教大學在藍蓮花寺的成立,正如那爛陀或塔系拉大學屹立於現代。

  佛教作為一種哲學,無疑是人類思想的最偉大的成就。當斯里蘭卡在阿育王統治時期接受到佛教時,它就成為了第一個采取佛教教義為社政行為基礎的國家。在公元前3世紀,當佛教被傳入斯里蘭卡時,它就成為斯里蘭卡的國教。

  然而在印度,佛教與其它宗教共存, 當它逐漸在印度這個佛國瀕臨滅絕時,它揭示了斯里蘭卡為什麼成為被保護的南傳佛教的珍寶。

  然而,今天佛教在印度以及其它一些西方國家被重新重視。推動全球佛教的復興是斯里蘭卡的歷史責任。我認為凱萊尼亞藍蓮花寺龍喜國際佛教大學,在被強帝瑪法師邀請到斯裡蘭卡的,澳大利亞淨宗學會會長,尊敬的淨空長老捐助下開始有了進展。

  作為高等教育部長,我強烈地希望這所大學成為一座燈塔,這將有助於佛法在人類行為的科學實踐中的進一步學習與研究。